How often are Town Commissioners elected?

Town Commissioners serve four-year terms. The Mayor's term is two years. Since Commission terms are staggered, the Town holds an election every two years, when the Mayor must also run. The Mayor and Commissioners are all elected at-large. Commissioners, however, run for specific seats and must reside in District 1 or District 2, which divide the Town’s voters into almost even north and south areas. Click here to view a map of District 1 and District 2. To qualify to run, you must reside in Town for at least six months before the election.

Show All Answers

1. When does the Town Commission meet?
2. Can the public attend Commission meetings?
3. Can I speak at Town Commission meetings?
4. Does the Commission ever meet in private?
5. Where can I find the meeting agenda?
6. How often are Town Commissioners elected?