The Town Commission is the Town’s elected legislative body. The five-member Commission consists of the Mayor, Vice Mayor and three other Commissioners. Commission members elect the Vice Mayor following each election. The Mayor presides at Commission meetings and is recognized as the head of the Town Government at all official functions. In the Mayor’s absence, that duty falls to the Vice Mayor.

The Commission meets on the second and fourth Tuesdays of the month at 7 PM in Jarvis Hall, 4501 N. Ocean Drive (adjacent to Town Hall). Special meetings and workshops are scheduled on an as-needed basis. All Commission meeting agendas are available in Town Hall and are posted on the Town’s Web site. Meeting dates are also listed in Town Topics and posted on our Comcast (Channel 78) and U-Verse government channels. Meetings in September usually cannot be held on the second and fourth Tuesdays of the month, because they are not allowed to conflict with Broward County's public hearings on the County budget.

The current Town Commission:

Mayor Chris Vincent

Vice Mayor Elliot Sokolow

Commissioner Buz Oldaker

Commissioner Edmund Malkoon

Commissioner Randy Strauss

The Commission is responsible for hiring the Town Manager and Town Attorney; it also approves all professional contracts for engineering, construction, planning, garbage pick-up and other professional services the Town may require.

Town Commissioners serve four-year terms. The Mayor's term is two years. Commission terms are staggered. The Mayor and four Commissioners are elected at-large. Commissioners, however, run for specific seats and must reside in District 1 or District 2, which divide the Town’s voters into almost even north and south areas. To run for office you must reside in Town at least six months prior to the election.  

The Town has a Commission-Manager form of government. The Commission represents all of the citizens of Lauderdale-By-The-Sea and is responsible for setting policies not designated by Florida law or the Town Charter. The Commission also adopts ordinances and resolutions on key matters, adopts the annual budget and establishes the tax rate and other various fees. The Town currently has the third lowest property tax rate among Broward County's 31 cities..

All content 2004-2018   Town of Lauderdale-By-The-Sea, FL and its representatives. All rights reserved.