
Town of Lauderdale‐By‐The‐Sea  

 
Change in Building 
Permitting Process 

Starting on January 3, 2012, The Town of Lauderdale‐By‐The‐Sea will be 
utilizing the plan review and inspection services of C.A.P. Government, 
Inc. (CAP).   

The Town will also be implementing a new building permit fee schedule 
on January 3, 2012. 
 
Broward  County  currently  provides  our  building  permit  services  and 
permits  issued  prior  to  January  3rd will  continue  to  be  reviewed  and 
inspected until  completion by Broward County.    You will  continue  to 
request inspections in the usual manner from Broward County. 
 
 
Effective  January  3rd,  the  Building  Services  new  telephone  number  is 
954‐640‐4215. The office location and hours remain the same. 
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A. Calculation of permit fee. 

The cost of construction or project may be determined in the following ways as determined by the 
Building Official: 

1. Cost of construction as submitted by the applicant. 

2. Copy of a signed contract for work to be performed 

3. Using the values in the most recent edition of the RS Means Construction Valuation 
System. 

 
The Building Official has the discretion to choose which one of the three methods used best 
reflect the true cost of work being performed. 

 
B. Mandatory State and County fees. 

1. Broward County Board of Rules and Appeals Surcharge - $0.60 per $1,000.00 cost of 
construction. 

2. Florida Statute 553.721 - 1.5 percent of the permit fee or a minimum of $2.00, and 
468.631 – 1.5 percent of the permit fee or a minimum of$2.00. 

3. Education fee – 0.2 percent of the permit fee. 
 

C. Permit Processing Fees. 

The full permit fee is due at time of submission.  Should work discontinue, then a prorated share 
of the fee may be returned as determined by the Building Official. 

 
D. Building Permit Fees. 

Fees for each permit that are calculated on the basis of a percentage of construction cost include 
fees for review by one construction discipline. If more than one discipline must review or inspect 
the project, then the additional discipline fees outlined apply. 
 

1. Residential - new construction  
(a) 2.00 % of total construction value plus $85.00 for each discipline. 
(b) Minimum permit fee  $85.00   

 
2. Commercial - new construction –  

(a) 2.00 % of total construction value, plus $85.00 for each discipline. 
(b) Minimum permit fee $85.00 

 
3. Residential Additions or Alterations   

(a) 3.00 % of total construction value, plus $85.00 for each discipline. 
(b) Minimum permit fee    $85.00 

 
4.  Commercial Additions or Alterations  

(a) 3.00 % of total construction value, plus $85.00 for each Discipline 
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(b) Minimum permit fee  $85.00 
 

E. Roofing Permit Fees  1.50 % of total construction value, plus 
$85.00 for each discipline. 

 
F. Swimming Pool Permit Fees  5.00 % of total construction value, plus 

$85.00 for each discipline. 
 

G. Miscellaneous Permit Fees  2.00 % of total construction value, plus 
$85.00 for each discipline. 

 
Miscellaneous permits include doors, garage doors, windows, storm shutters, fences, sheds, pool 
decks, paver patios, concrete slabs, driveways, screen enclosures, tents, gazebos, retaining walls, 
sea walls, etc.  This also includes any miscellaneous electrical, plumbing, or mechanical permits 
covered by the Florida Building Code.  Should the Building Official determine that a permit is 
needed for work being performed and that the minimum permit fee and the percentage multiplier 
do not adequately assess a fee necessary to hold the City revenue neutral, then Building Official 
shall notify the applicant in writing of the time necessary to review and issue the permit and at 
what hourly rate, based on the disciplines necessary for the review. 

 
H. Minimum Permit Fee.    $85.00 

 
All permits issued are subject to a minimum fee of $85.00.  Should any permit calculation result 
in a fee of less than $85.00, then the minimum permit fee shall apply. 
 

I. Demolition of Buildings    1.00 % of Total Project Value 
 

J. Elevators, Escalators, and other Lift Devices    Regulated by Broward County 
 

K. Change of Contractor  $85.00 
 

L. Plan Revisions after permit is issued 

Plan revisions and corrections before and during application process may be assessed additional 
hourly fees if resubmitted. 

If the proposed change represents a major alteration of the floor plan, or configuration of the 
structure that requires extensive reexamination or computation, then the original permit shall be 
voided, and one half (1/2) of the original permit fee may be applied to the new permit. 

 
M. Re-inspections 

1.  First Occurrence    $65.00 except for permits pulled by an 
owner-builder, in which case, the first 
re-inspection fee will be waived.  

2.  Second Occurrence $130.00 
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3.  Third Occurrence $195.00 

4.  Fourth and all subsequent Occurrences    $260.00 
 
 The Building Official may waive re-inspection fees, based on extenuating circumstances.  
 

N. Overtime, Specialty, and After Hours Inspections  
4 hour minimum at $97.50 per hour or 
fraction thereof  

 

O. Permit Card Replacement   $ 35.00 
 

P. Penalty for work without a permit                      Double the Permit Fee 
 

Q. Expired permits/extensions  If the applicant applies for permit renewal within the 
time period stated in the Florida Building Code, the 
renewal fee shall be one half (1/2) of the original fee, or 
$85.00, whichever is greater. 

 
If the renewal application is made after the time period 
stated in the Florida Building Code, application for a 
new permit must be made, accompanied by payment of 
the full fee.   

 

R. Certificate of Occupancy 

1.  Residential   $150.00 

2.  Commercial $250.00 
 

S. 40 Year Building Safety Inspection Program 

 All applications for recertification or extension $400.00 
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